My first online battles

Everything but not IL2 ... say here 'Hello!' ;)
Navvara Ultor

My first online battles

Post by Navvara Ultor » Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:47 pm

Having only standalon PF and IL-2 I decided to give PF a try. I don't play PF that much, IL-2 is my personal favourite (i fly 109's 90% of the time) People around here warned me that online play would be quite an experience and it was. Here what happened:

My first ever match.

I joined this low ping server, realistic settings-external views and icons. icons set by server to show at 1 Km. Map: Midway. Players 11.

I played as japanese in a a6m 5c. i chose the zeke as i have little experience flying full realism in PF (only flew the spitfire, corsair and f6f in full realism but only for a couple of sorties) and the zeke is easy to handle and quite forgiving.

My first take off attempt ended in dissaster as a traitor to our cause had parked an b-25 on the aircraft carrier and was shooing everyone on take off. After the guy got kicked I finally managed to take off.

There was some lag but nothing I couldn't handle (at least in normal flight). I then proceded to use external views to find my enemy and in about 10 minutes I was at 4000 m looking down at a hevealy laden corsair at ~3000 (i know i shouldn't go that high in a zero but I wanted to get an altitude advantage over my faster opponent).

As I dove onto my target I realised that he had not noticed me so I prepared for an easy kill. Now lag became an issue (and my lack of skill to be honest, i'm not gonna blame this on lag alone) and i missed my first run. Also the fact that my heart was pounding didn't help my boom aproach. Realising that I was about to evershoot and that I need to bleed off some E I didn't zoom but performed a right hand chandelle, reversed when my speed had dropped to 200 Km/h and then dove onto him again