Hy y'all

Announcements, Dates, FAQs
Navvara Ultor

Hy y'all

Post by Navvara Ultor » Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:18 pm

I'm just getting started with online IL-2 and PF. After much considetion i've decided to join your fine squadron. It was a tough choice, so many other squadrons on the il-2 forum were fighting over me (which is natural considering my years of experience playing flight sims) but in the end Fightin'Irish won my heart.

Here's my current hardware setup (relevant to flight sims):

Main rig:

P4N 2.8 Ghz (will run stable at up to 3.461 Ghz)
1 GB Ram
Fx 5700 256 MB

Laptop:

Intel Centrino (P4M) 1.8 Ghz
1 GB Ram
Ati Mobility Radeon 9700 256 MB

Flight controlers:

Thrustmaster Top Gun Afterburner FFB HOTAS
-busted up Logitech Wingman Extreme

Internet connection: DSL 2.5 MB

Creative WebCam&Headset

I'll be upgrading my main rig's video card with either a 7600 GS/x1650 Pro Platinum or a 7600 GT depending on how much $ I can get my hands on by X-Mas.

I was going to save up for a Saitek x52 but since that doesn't have FFB i'll invest in a Thrustmaster Cougar. Is that the best joyoustick available on the market?

I'm not gonna brag about my flying skills but shall prove them in combat (although i could send ya a couple of my saved tracks)

For arguments sake i'll presume that my previous knowledge of online games amounts to zero (guess what you get if you throw in a 250 Kg bomb in that sentence: sake+zero+250 Kg bomb=?). So please provide a for idiots guide on how to get online with IL-2 PF, setting up teamspeak.
Just wondering, how does PF/IL-2 look on OpenGL? I've only used DirectX rendering so far.
See you on the flipside.
:FI:Sneaky_Russian
Post Maniac General

Welcome

Post by :FI:Sneaky_Russian » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:24 pm

Sticky: Installaton, Patches and extras

Open GL looks like
Only better